Photo by me. Yes, those are my real pills.

I haven’t had the energy for blogging, or anything else, lately.

I received the results of the blood tests I mentioned in a previous post, at the beginning of the month. Everything was normal, except my a1c levels were slightly higher than normal, which, according to my doctor, means I’m not yet diabetic, but I’m “at a higher risk to develop diabetes.” She started me on Metformin. The dose was to start out low, and gradually build up over a period of three weeks, to reduce the side effects.

At first, it didn’t seem too bad. It made me a little nauseous, and tired, but it wasn’t anything I couldn’t handle. But when it came time to increase the dose, the real problems began.  Not everyone experiences the gastric (stomach) problems, so I’m apparently one of the (un)lucky few.  I don’t want to get into the gory details here, but let’s just say that I was pretty much chained to the bathroom, and no matter how much sleep I got, I was constantly exhausted.  Good thing I’m my own boss, because there is no way I would be have been able to function normally during this time, much less be able to work on someone else’s schedule.

This isn’t the first time I’ve experienced side-effects that were worse than the original problem (I blogged about it years ago here), though this is the first time it’s happened with a prescription medication.  I really didn’t have any symptoms of diabetes before the test, either.  The test was part of a screening for my general health condition.  So to end up completely miserable from a pill, well, it left me wondering if my doctor wasn’t a little too quick to jump straight to medication.  A full-dose seems a bit like overkill when I think about it: my numbers were literally 0.1 percent outside of the normal range.

The symptoms did start tapering off a few days ago, much to my relief.  I guess my body has adjusted to the medication.   I’ve heard horror stories about people suffering through the severest side-effects for years.  Despite this, I’ve decided to add another resolution to my list for the year: to lose another 10 pounds, and get off this medication for good.  I’m sure it’s possible.  My father, who is a full-blown diabetic, was able to get off medication by adding additional exercise to his gym routine, and I kind of wanted to lose more weight even before this happened.  I lost 15 pounds last year, and have managed to keep it off.  We’ll see how it goes.

I hope to get back into blogging more regularly, soon.  Plus, I know I have a lot of catch-up commenting to do, on the blogs that I follow.  This could take a while…

