Halfway through the year now.  Oh, how time flies when you’re having fun. 😉  Here’s how June turned out:

Resolutions #1, 3, 5, &7: Keep this blog updated.

Progress report:  Blogged a total of 6 times in June.  Exactly the same as  I posted in April and May.  I’m still having trouble with managing my writing time, and I still prefer working on my manuscripts over blogging.

Resolution #2:  Finally finish editing my NaNoWriMo novel from 2008

Progress report:  This is my 100,000+ word monster I mentioned in my previous post about word counts.  Ran a quick spell-check (gotta love those typos that completely change the meaning of a sentence) and began tightening the prose.  There are quite a few spots where I slipped into the passive voice.    I’m about half-way through the first chapter, with many, many more to go.

Resolution #4:  Finish the first draft of my NaNoWriMo novel from 2011

Progress report: Finally completed the first draft.  One of my antagonists has done a disappearing act halfway through the story, and is seen only in the point of view of the other antagonist, who will end up betraying her as well as my protagonists.  Makes her look silly and one-dimensional.  Must work on that, but I’m still letting the manuscript as a whole sit for the time being.

Resolution #6: Receive one rejection slip (print or e-mail) every other month, for a total of 6 for the year.

Progress report: Though I still haven’t made any progress on my longer work, I’ve managed to write my first short story in years.  A flash-fiction piece, under 200 words, for a themed submission call I saw online.  Hit the “send” button for it on Friday night, and have been trying to avoid obsessively checking my e-mail ever since. 😯 It’s the first work I’ve submitted anywhere in more than 10 years.

I’m really happy with the way June turned out.  Even though my blogging still needs a lot of work, there was good progress on the rest of my writing.

What about you? Have you been making progress on your goals for this year?

