Interesting month overall, mainly in real life, not my writing life.  Here’s how May turned out:

Resolutions #1, 3, 5, &7: Keep this blog updated.

Progress report:  Blogged a total of 6 times in May.  Exactly the same as  I posted in April, but it could have been a lot more.  It was a continuation of what I struggled with in April, when work on my drafts became a much higher priority to me than blogging.  Perhaps its my old introvert nature rearing its ugly head again, trying to drive me back in the dark corners of the internet to resume the role of lurker rather than participant.

Resolution #2:  Finally finish editing my NaNoWriMo novel from 2008

Progress report:  Last additions completed, and just letting it sit for a while before I begin reading through it again.

Resolution #4:  Finish the first draft of my NaNoWriMo novel from 2011

Progress report: Nice progress here, finishing the month with 43, 676 words, an addition of over 6000 words since April.

Resolution #6: Receive one rejection slip (print or e-mail) every other month, for a total of 6 for the year.

Progress report: Beginning to think that novella may be a lost cause.  I’ve been toying with the idea of writing more short stories again, but haven’t made a decision just yet.  Also started another story that may become a novella, or may be long enough to be a novel.

Part of me hesitated to post this progress report, especially since one of my resolutions now appears to be a lost cause (#6), yet writing them help me keep more motivated than if I didn’t.  Something about being accountable, even if only to faceless strangers over the internet, has been a great boost to my productivity.

What about you? Do you feel like you need to be held accountable for your goals in order to achieve them? Or do you work best when you think no one is watching? 😉

 

