April started off really great, but fizzled out when life got in the way of writing.  Here’s how the month turned out:

Resolutions #1, 3, 5, &7: Keep this blog updated.

Progress report:  Blogged a total of 6 times in April.  One more than I posted in March, but it could have been a lot more.  My writing time became really limited at the end of the month, with my day job taking up much more of my time and energy than usual.  Though what could have been a major disaster turned out to be just a minor one, I just didn’t feel like writing much at all.  So I tried to focus on my various drafts and let blogging take a backseat to everything else.

Resolution #2:  Finally finish editing my NaNoWriMo novel from 2008

Progress report: Not yet finished.  I wrote most of my missing ending from memory, but I wasn’t satisfied with it.  A minor subplot popped up as part of the conclusion, and I realized that I had barely touched on it during the rest of the story.  Not enough, anyway, to justify it’s role in the ending.  Going back and adding it in, but that doesn’t mean the ending still won’t end up changing.  Here’s hoping that it will make more sense this way.

Resolution #4:  Finish the first draft of my NaNoWriMo novel from 2011

Progress report: Although I struggled with this one, in part because of the outline cramping my writing style, I did make more progress than I expected here.  I’m now at 37, 430 words, which means I added a little over 4000 words.

Resolution #6: Receive one rejection slip (print or e-mail) every other month, for a total of 6 for the year.

Progress report: I think I may have found a resolution to that plot hole in my novella.  I’m actively re-writing and editing it again.  Whether I’ll feel like it will ever be ready for submission is another thing entirely.

Overall, April was a strange month for me.  I learned that my time management skills definitely need a lot of work, since they seem to completely disappear when I’m under stress.  Barring any further surprises, however, I have high hopes for May.

