No, I don’t really want to write this post, but I must.  How else will I keep myself accountable for what I posted last month?

So, January has come and gone.  I wonder how many resolutions have been abandoned already for the year? I’m sure they have statistics on that, somewhere, but honestly, I’m too chicken to look them up.

Resolutions #1, 3, 5, &7: Keep this blog updated.

Progress report:  Well, I did blog twice in January.  And this will be my second post in February.  Which is definitely an improvement, considering that I’ve gone months without blogging at all.

Resolution #2:  Finally finish editing my NaNoWriMo novel from 2008

Progress report:  I’m about 1/3 of the way through the manuscript.  Have a couple of new scenes that need to be written completely from scratch, but so far, nothing too traumatic.  I’m cautiously optimistic that I’ll be able to complete this one.

Resolution #4:  Finish the first draft of my NaNoWriMo novel from 2011

Progress report:  Not good.  Not good at all.  I ended last November with just 24, 945 words.  So far, I’ve only managed to reach 25, 727 words.  At this rate, I may finish this by, oh, I’m thinking… around 2020.

Resolution #6: Receive one rejection slip (print or e-mail) every other month, for a total of 6 for the year.

Progress report: Haven’t sent out a single submission yet this year.  The closest I’ve come is stalking (is that too strong of a word?) the website of my dream agent.  And waffling back and forth on whether or not I want to actually seek publication on one particular manuscript.  Self-doubt is a very powerful thing…

So, how about you? Did you make any resolutions this year? And how are you progressing towards your goals?

