As a kid, I remember racing home from school in order to watch several cartoons: “Robotech,” “Transformers,” “Thundercats,”and my particular favorite, “Starblazers.”  It was an Americanized version of a Japanese anime, about the Earth dying of radiation and a World War II battleship converted into a starship that would take them to a distant planet that may hold the key to ridding the Earth of radiation.

I saw it listed on the schedule for the SyFy Channel tonight, and I couldn’t resist the temptation to stay up and watch it, even though it was showing at 2 am my time.  I was a little afraid to watch, though, because I didn’t know how I would react to it as an adult.  I saw “Robotech” as an adult, and didn’t like it as much (Minmei annoyed the you-know-what out of me, when I actually liked her as a kid) and didn’t want “Starblazers” to suffer the same fate.

The theme song came on, incredibly cheesy after all of these years.  I couldn’t stop giggling the whole time.  The dialogue was a little stilted, the animation, as well as some of the technology the characters used, were noticeably dated, but the story still sucked me in.  And yes, some of the jokes are still funny, though maybe not the way the creators intended.

It was worth staying up for.  The only downside is I now have to wait a whole week to see the next episodes.

