I love ice cream, I won’t deny it.

I’ve been meaning to make my first batch of homemade ice cream for the year, but I’ve been too lazy. I use the low-fat recipes from CookingLight.com and use the Lactaid brand milk in place of regular milk, as, for some reason, I’ve suddenly become lactose intolerant in my thirties.

So last month, after mad strawberry ice cream cravings, I indulged several nights in a row, with  a combination of store-bought and Baskin-Robbins ice cream.  Because of the symptoms I was having (mainly gas), on the last night, I decided to try taking a dairy digestive supplement, aka lactase caplets. Got violently sick about an hour later, with severe stomach cramps, vomiting, and more. The toilet was my best friend for several hours, and I became so weak I could barely sit on it when I needed to.

The next morning I was fine. Just a little nausea. I chalked up the whole experience to a massive ice cream overload. I couldn’t figure out what else could be wrong, as I was still able to use the Lactaid milk in my cold cereal without a problem.

Then, yesterday, as I was doing some errands in a hot and sweltering Georgia afternoon, the ice cream craving struck again. I stopped at the store and picked up a container of reduced-fat cookie dough ice cream. Took a single caplet with my single serving of ice cream.

A little over an hour later, I was just as violently ill as I had been the last time. Three hours later, my husband was convinced that he was going to have to take me to the emergency room, but that was right around the time that the symptoms had begun to subside, and, I was able to crawl to bed and fall asleep. Felt almost normal when I woke up a few hours later, though I was exhausted and still a little queasy.

This time, I couldn’t blame over-indulgence.

Out of curiosity, I decided to do an internet search.  Buried in some of the “customer reviews” of similar products at online stores, were similar stories to mine.  And at this site, under the side effects, were more stories, some worse than mine.  Many report something similar to my experience, where they can handle the Lactaid milk, but the concentrated lactase enzymes in the caplet form were too much too handle.

I can’t say with one hundred percent certainty that it was the supplements that caused me to be sick.  But I think the next time I want ice cream, if I haven’t gotten around to making my own, I’m not going to take the pills.  I’d prefer my usual symptoms over what I experienced last night.  I should probably also mention, that I used the generic form of the pills, not the Lactaid brand.

